Levels of Software Testing Part – 1

There are below 5 Level of Software Testing:


Unit Level Testing:

  • The smallest flow or the part of application is known as Unit. The Developer will divide application’s module to multiple units and develops the code for all the units.
  • Developer will check whether each and every unit is working as expected or not is known as Unit Level Testing.
  • The Developer is responsible for Unit Level Testing.


Module Level Testing:

  • The Developer will combine the group of related units to form a module.
  • Once the module has prepared then the Developer will test whether it is working as expected or not.
  • Developer will perform white box testing in Development Environment.
  • The Test Engineer is also responsible for Module Level Testing where Tester will perform Black box Testing in Test Environment.


Integration Level Testing:

  • Once all the modules are developed then the Developer will combine all the modules in a hierarchical order to form a project.
  • The process of combining all the modules to form a project is known as Integration.
  • Integration Level Testing means the data flow between one module to another is properly navigating or not is known as Integration Level Testing.
  • While Integration if any mandatory module is not at developed (under development) then the Developer will replace the mandatory module with Stub or Driver.
  • Stub or Driver is nothing but a dummy program, it doesn’t contain any of the functionality.


Click here for Levels of Software Testing – 2

5 Thoughts on Levels of Software Testing Part – 1

  1. Hello buddy,

    Straightforward and written well, I appreciate the information you have shared keep posting 🙂

    Software testing is very important in terms of quality and it has many advantages as well.

    • It drastically reduces risks of performance.
    • It increases the scalability of software.
    • It gives tangible statistics to software developers.


  2. Hey,

    I hereby read full blog that is very nice information shared through blogger…… 🙂

    Can you please share your another blog on Levels of Software Testing Part – 2

    Antoine Aarts

Leave a Comment